Had a problem installing the "wrodpress" upgrade

For your questions about Installation & Configuration.
reinkefj
Posts: 11
Joined: 01.05.2007 18:29

Had a problem installing the "wrodpress" upgrade

Postby reinkefj » 01.05.2007 20:48

When I do the install it fails attempting to register OLEAUT32.DLL

The code it 0X 80 70 00 05

Suggestions?

Johannes
BlogDesk
Posts: 553
Joined: 19.08.2005 20:29

Postby Johannes » 01.05.2007 21:59

Does it work if you reboot before installing?

reinkefj
Posts: 11
Joined: 01.05.2007 18:29

Postby reinkefj » 01.05.2007 22:40

>Does it work if you reboot before installing?

No, I tried that. I figured that XP had left a lock on a file. It fails every time in the same way.

Johannes
BlogDesk
Posts: 553
Joined: 19.08.2005 20:29

Postby Johannes » 01.05.2007 23:09

Can you still run BlogDesk?

reinkefj
Posts: 11
Joined: 01.05.2007 18:29

There's nothing to run.

Postby reinkefj » 02.05.2007 00:03

No When you select abort, it rolls the install back and everything is gone.

I had an older version's distribution file. I tried installing that and it gets the same error.

fjohn

Johannes
BlogDesk
Posts: 553
Joined: 19.08.2005 20:29

Re: There's nothing to run.

Postby Johannes » 02.05.2007 00:21

reinkefj wrote:No When you select abort, it rolls the install back and everything is gone.

There is no Ignore option?

reinkefj
Posts: 11
Joined: 01.05.2007 18:29

Ignore

Postby reinkefj » 02.05.2007 00:38

Yes, should I take it.

Johannes
BlogDesk
Posts: 553
Joined: 19.08.2005 20:29

Postby Johannes » 02.05.2007 00:46

Yes, you should :-)

reinkefj
Posts: 11
Joined: 01.05.2007 18:29

Take Ignore

Postby reinkefj » 02.05.2007 02:04

It appears to be installed. I'll try it.

reinkefj
Posts: 11
Joined: 01.05.2007 18:29

Running

Postby reinkefj » 02.05.2007 02:10

It appears to be working, I've posted to my main blog and "comments" appears to be correct.

reinkefj
Posts: 11
Joined: 01.05.2007 18:29

I am still having a a sev4 problem

Postby reinkefj » 03.05.2007 13:37

Periodically, BLOGDESK "disappears". I leave it up, open, and blog when I have time. Since the upgrade, BLOGDESK disappears. It's not on the taskbar, not can I alt-tab task switch to it. When I look at what processes are running, there it is. If you use the "switch to" in the process view, nothing happens. It's like a little kid sulking in their room. :-) If I termintate the taks from the process view, it goes away peacefully (i.e., I don't see any effects). If I then restart it from the program menu or quick launch it runs fine. Could this behavior be from that dll that wouldn't register? Is there another bug? Am I the only "problem child"? Your attention when you have time would be appreciated. It is only severity 4. Thanks, fjohn

Johannes
BlogDesk
Posts: 553
Joined: 19.08.2005 20:29

Postby Johannes » 03.05.2007 13:42

I don't think it's related to your installation problem. I'll investigate.

Johannes
BlogDesk
Posts: 553
Joined: 19.08.2005 20:29

Postby Johannes » 03.05.2007 14:30

Ok, I found & fixed the problem, the update is online (Build 510).

reinkefj
Posts: 11
Joined: 01.05.2007 18:29

Seems to have fixed it

Postby reinkefj » 03.05.2007 21:16

I installed it, bypassing hte same error, and it completed. I tested it since I could recreate the problem by just minimizing the window (i.e., minimize the window and it goes off an sulks, never to return to the fore). It appears to have worked. Care to elaborate on what the problem was? Just for my own education, thanks, fjohn

Johannes
BlogDesk
Posts: 553
Joined: 19.08.2005 20:29

Postby Johannes » 04.05.2007 00:37

It had to do with the SystemTray feature that will come with the next update.

reinkefj
Posts: 11
Joined: 01.05.2007 18:29

thanks

Postby reinkefj » 04.05.2007 05:31

just curious


Return to “Installation & Configuration”