Uploading pictures to WordPress

For your questions about using BlogDesk.
gottabkd
Posts: 25
Joined: 10.01.2007 22:52

Uploading pictures to WordPress

Postby gottabkd » 11.01.2007 19:07

Hi,
First I just want to say that I love, love, love BlogDesk as it is a wonderful tool for Blogging, making life really easy. You have created a wonderful tool!!!

I am looking for further help with the uploading of pictures using BlogDesk. I had some issues and posted the following in Wordpress, looking for some help, but to no avail.

I recently upload pictures within a post about the motorcycle show http://gottabkd.wordpress.com/ while using BlogDesk.
As you can see in the post, there are four pictures.
Here is the thing: After uploading the post/pictures with BlogDesk, I then signed into worpress, went to Manage, Uploads to see the results and make sure everything was loaded correctly.
What I found was 10 pictures, four which I used, four are doubles of those used and two loaded that were not used in the post.
Two not used in the post were two that I deleted while in BlogDesk. Not sure why they still loaded though as I thought they were deleted.
The other four that were used, were loaded twice.
In BlogDesk, I was able to create the thumbnail from the original picture as Blogdesk indicated (rightly so) that the pictures were too big for the theme I was using (good stuff Blogdesk and very intuitive). Thumbnails were created for all four pictures used.

My questions may not be answered here, (not a worpress issue, maybe and that's OK) but I thought I would try anyway.
1) Does anyone else have this issue with Blogdesk?
2) Did Blogdesk load the thumbnail and the original pic?
3) Why did BlogDesk load the "deleted" pictures and how do I avoid that next time?
4) Is there a reason why BlogDesk loaded the original and the thumbnail? Can this be avoided?


(not sure if you can access this, but here is the url to the forum and the responses: http://wordpress.com/forums/topic.php?id=6698&replies=6 )

Please keep up the good work and thanks for your reply.
gottaBKD

halinagold
Posts: 22
Joined: 11.09.2006 16:18

Postby halinagold » 14.01.2007 15:48

I've had some problems with images too and ended up not uploading them with Blogdesk.
Here's what I do: I have them in a folder and upload them separately (I use Frontpage, but it could be FTP). Then, when I need an image in Blogdesk I add html for the picture. Something like this: <img src="your url">.
I can then click on the picture in Blogdesk, align it the way I want, add a link etc.

Johannes
BlogDesk
Posts: 553
Joined: 19.08.2005 20:29

Postby Johannes » 14.01.2007 20:26

Unfortunately wordpress.com is known for having odd problems with images, especially images uploaded with weblog clients like BlogDesk. I was told that images may disappear and come up again later. Is your problem something you can reproduce at will or did it happen just once?

gottabkd
Posts: 25
Joined: 10.01.2007 22:52

Postby gottabkd » 14.01.2007 23:04

Hi Johannes,
It was the first time I used BlogDesk to load a post with pictures. It was so strange, that I have not tried again, but I will when I get a chance and let you know what happened.
Give me a day for this please and I will get back here soon.

The WP forum volunteers idicated that BD loads two test pictures when it is used the first time.
They also indicate that BD loads both the thumbnail and the original pic. Could this be because I created the thumbnail using BD?
Thanx Johannes

@halinagold
Not sure I uderstand you correctly, do you use another client to load pictures to WP like Frontpage.
Once loaded into WP, you then use Blogdesk to write your post, then attach the picture from WP into your post created in BD, by using only a link (url)?
Also, not sure if you are using Wordpress for your blog or not.
Thanks for the work around though, I appreciated it and may try it after I get back to Johannes.
Thanks

halinagold
Posts: 22
Joined: 11.09.2006 16:18

Postby halinagold » 14.01.2007 23:14

Sorry I didn't make myself clear.
Let me try again:

I do have a Wordpress blog.
I also have a regular website.
So I upload an image to the website.
Once I've done it, the image can be reached as a url, for example like this one:
http://www.halinagold.net/images/blogdesk-button-3.gif

Now, I go to Blogdesk and write a post. At the position where I want my image, I click the "Insert Html" button and I insert this:
<img src="http://www.halinagold.net/images/blogdesk-button-3.gif"> and click OK. Now I can see the image in my post and can continue writing my post.

gottabkd
Posts: 25
Joined: 10.01.2007 22:52

Postby gottabkd » 14.01.2007 23:34

Hi Halinagold,
Thank you for the clarity.
The wordpress you use appeares to be the self hosted software, which I underdstand is different than the "free dot com" version I use.
I will try this method though, once I complete what Johannes has asked me to do so that he will know if it can be duplicated or it was a one time thing.

I will save your instructions and try them after.
Thanks so much for your help, I really appreciate it ;)

halinagold
Posts: 22
Joined: 11.09.2006 16:18

Postby halinagold » 14.01.2007 23:41

Oh, I didn't think of that. Yes, mine is hosted, and it's slightly different than yours.

Good luck!

Halina

gottabkd
Posts: 25
Joined: 10.01.2007 22:52

Postby gottabkd » 15.01.2007 00:17

Thanks Haligold, but I will keep and try your instructions at another time, especially if this current issue does not get sorted out!

Hi Johannes, I did recreate a new post and this is what happened:
Within BD I:
created a post, added five pictures, deleted two of those pictures, uploaded post with three pictures. While it was uploading, it said loading 1 of 7 files, 2/7 files, 3/7 files etc.

Signed into WP and went to the Manage Uploads.
In this area there are two copies of the first picture, three copies of the second picture, and two copies of the last picture ( I expected this if BD loads orig and thumbnail). Then there is the picture I loaded into post, then deleted before I uploaded to WP.

Very confusing...
Does BD load both the thumbnail and original?
Why so many files being uploaded?
How can I delete a photo properly, (while writing the post in BD) so BD does not load the deleted photo (not used in post) to WP?

Loading so many pictures takes up too much valuable space in WP. I just want to load the minimum amount of pictures without having to edit/delete once in WP.

Is there any way to name the thumbnail only? That way once loaded into WP, I could delete the offending phots with assurity that I am not deleting the one connected to the post.

post is here: http://gottabkd.wordpress.com/

Any help with this is much appreciated as I love the option(s) in the image editor, it's just a little quirky is all...
Thanks

Johannes
BlogDesk
Posts: 553
Joined: 19.08.2005 20:29

Postby Johannes » 15.01.2007 13:16

Ok, now I found it. It's a bug in BlogDesk that occurs in the following situation:
1) You add a big image and let BlogDesk automatically create a thumbnail.
2) You remove this image from your post.
3) Result: BlogDesk will nevertheless upload the image (but it won't show up in the post).

This only happens if you let BlogDesk create a thumbnail and if you remove this image from your article before posting it. There is no problem creating thumbnails if you don't remove them and there is no problem removing an image if it's not a thumbnail.

The problem affects BlogDesk 2.6.300 and will be fixed in the next version.

gottabkd
Posts: 25
Joined: 10.01.2007 22:52

Postby gottabkd » 15.01.2007 19:57

Hi Johannes,
Thanks for the update. I am awaiting the newer, bug free version of BD. ;)

I wonder, if for now, is there a work-around for this situation.
Can I create all thumbnails in BD, save them to my harddrive, then use (link to) them in a future post. (obviously I would not load the post I use to create the thumbnails, as it would be blank anyhow).

Also, when one modifies a large picture with BD, there are two areas to name (or rename) the picture (at the top of the screen). Can you tell me which one names the thumbnail and which one names the original picture (left or right) that gets loaded to WP. If I knew the difference, I could safely delete the duplicate that is stored in WP. Right now I am not sure which one it is, so I have yet to delete them.

Also, is there a way to safely delete an image (after creating a thumbnail) in a post... (me thinks not, especially if BD makes the thumbnail. Looking forward to the fix.)

If I am reading this correctly, images not altered in BD, put into posts, and then loaded do not have this issue, correct?

Thanks so much for looking into this, and I await the bug fixed version of BD.
Take care

Johannes
BlogDesk
Posts: 553
Joined: 19.08.2005 20:29

Postby Johannes » 15.01.2007 20:14

I must admit that I do not understand the problems/questions you have. If you want to avoid problems, don't use the Create thumbnail function. If the image is too big, crop or resize it to fit the width of the blog. Then you won't have any problems.

gottabkd
Posts: 25
Joined: 10.01.2007 22:52

Postby gottabkd » 15.01.2007 20:39

Thanks Johannes,
I am not being clear, my fault.

I still want to use the BD imge editor to create the thumbnails. I also just want to save them to my desktop, rename them (ie sunset thumbnail) and then in the future, use them in a post.

Is there a way to save the thumbnail(s) to the desktop while in image wizard?
If not this would also be a good option. That way, one could edit all images with BD and use them in the future.

Sorry for the confusion and thanks again :)

Johannes
BlogDesk
Posts: 553
Joined: 19.08.2005 20:29

Postby Johannes » 15.01.2007 20:54

gottabkd wrote:Is there a way to save the thumbnail(s) to the desktop while in image wizard?

No. Don't forget: BlogDesk is there to make blogging (and inserting images) easier, not to serve as a full-blown image editor.

gottabkd
Posts: 25
Joined: 10.01.2007 22:52

Postby gottabkd » 15.01.2007 21:02

So true.... but the image writer is really good :) and it would be great if the option was there....

It's a wish list addition! (bump it to wish list)

Thanks Johannes....


Return to “Using BlogDesk”